Texas law requires every motorist to carry liability
insurance so that if you are at fault, you can
pay for the damage to the other vehicle and
cover the medical costs of the other driver or
passengers if they are injured. Mandatory minimum
liability coverage in Texas is 30/60/25. That
means there is $30,000 coverage for each injured
person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident
and $25,000 for property damage per accident.
You should carry a copy of your liability insurance
coverage with you or in your vehicle at all
times. Failure to carry liability insurance can result
in fines up to $1,000, suspension of your
driver’s license and motor vehicle registration,
and impoundment of your vehicle.